sweetsophy

Dogs are not our whole life, but they make our lives whole. ~Roger Caras

baby love to puppy love March 2, 2007

Filed under: dogs,kids,puppy,shih tzu — sweetsophy @ 1:07 pm

It’s funny how our priorities change as we age.  My husband and I were blessed with one beautiful daughter and the whole baby experience went by way to quickly for me. When my daughter was young,  I couldn’t be in the same room with another baby and resist the overwhelming urge,  I had to hold the baby.   I was baby smitten, as each new baby came into the family, I was the one who was always stepping up to hold the baby, feed the baby, rock the baby, play with the baby.   I was baby crazy plain and simple.  

I am not sure when that changed but recently we were at a family get together and there was another new baby.   From across the room I smiled at her but had absolutely no desire to even go near the baby.   Even I was really surprised at my reaction.   Wow! When did the baby urge leave the mothership?  I am pretty sure it occured shortly after we welcomed a new addition to our family, a shih tzu puppy named Sophy.

Here it comes, phase two.   

Our daughter is grown and in her first year of college.  Now it is puppy love.  To pre-prepare for the empty nest, about three years ago, I purchased a puppy from friends that were raising shih-tzu’s.   I have to say that “I” purchased the puppy because it took the entire eight weeks from the time she was born until I could bring her home to convince my husband that she was going to live with us.     Once she came into our home our entire household changed.

Sophy is the most wonderful and loving little dog.   She is the first small dog, I have ever had  and she is definitely my baby.  She fills the place in my heart that at one time longed for another child.  It happened in and instant, that first puppy sigh, those beautiful brown eyes, the little puppy kisses, it was definitely puppy love.   She is much easier to care for than a baby but the love she gives is equally amazing.    She has also managed to deveop the same loving bond with my husband, we are mommy and daddy again.    She sleeps in our bed at night and is the best snuggler.   Each morning we wake to puppy kisses and an expected tummy rub.

So now, I no longer coo when someone enters the room with a new baby.    I don’t have to hold or love or cuddle that baby.    I have moved on to a new plateau, my priorities have changed and so far I love the new path my life is taking.    The changes are making life at home a great deal different now that our daughter has gone on to college.   I miss her a lot, more than I realized, having Sophy at home to keep me company is a real blessing.  

 I could go on with more but our friends just walked in the door with a new puppy………………  I think we are going to call him Petey.

 

One Response to “baby love to puppy love”

  1. Holly Says:

    How true this is. Puppies are an amazing thing for people who have no children or companion. Tell us more about Petey!


Leave a Reply

